restdesigners.blogg.se

Laundry room hidden water heater
Laundry room hidden water heater









laundry room hidden water heater
  1. #Laundry room hidden water heater how to
  2. #Laundry room hidden water heater install

While I was super thankful to have a working laundry room, there were several aspects of the space that I wanted to change. In Spring of 2017, I took on the challenge of transforming my laundry room into a functional space. I used it from 2017 until 2019 when we sold our home.įor those of you who are not familiar with the One Room Challenge, the ORC is a biannual event where 20 featured designers and hundreds of guest bloggers completely transform a space in 6 weeks. I would also recommend asking several professionals about your specific project to avoid creating a fire hazard.Ĭreating this screen, made the biggest difference in how much I enjoyed my laundry room. There are a few safety considerations when building a screen around a hot water heater, so you definitely want to make sure there is plenty of space between the hot water heater and the screen. This turned out to be very wise because we had several instances when plumbers needed to quickly turn off our water. I used hinges, so that I could remove the screen easily when we needed to access the hot water heater. Lastly, I attached each frame together with hinges. I did not bother with pocket holes because I am an inexperienced with tools and DIY projects.Īfter I had built the frames, I used a staple gun, to staple the fabric to the back of each frame.

laundry room hidden water heater

Once the paint had completely dried, I nailed the shorter furring strips to the back of the longer ones to create two identical frames.

laundry room hidden water heater

After cutting the furring strips, I spray painted them white. I was pleasantly surprised that I was able to make the screen for less than $20! If you choose an inexpensive fabric, this is a very affordable project.Īfter shopping, I measured the size that I would need each screen and cut the furring strips based on the height and width I needed. Then I purchased the following: 6 furring strips which are basically pieces of wood that measure 1 x 2 x 8, fabric, two hinges, and white spray paint. I had nails, a hammer, staples and a staple gun on hand. The first thing I did was to gather all of my supplies.

#Laundry room hidden water heater how to

How to Hide a Hot Water Heater with a DIY Screen I'm not very good with tools, and I just wanted a solution that was quick, easy, and inexpensive. The blog Woodshop Diaries provides step by step instructions for creating a wooden cabinet to cover your hot water heater.įor the most part, I'm not a huge fan of this option, but it is a cost efficient option and their are situations where it can work well with the decor.Īfter doing a little research, I decided on a simple screen to hide my hot water heater. This closet requires less room than a dry wall closet and still offers the accessibility of a door.Ĭreating a cabinet is a great option if you want something less permanent than a closet. If you do not want to hire a contractor, the blog Twelve on Main has an excellent tutorial for creating a lovely shiplap closet. This is also likely the best option for the resale of your home. One benefit to adding a closet is that you can easily access the hot water heater at all times whenever your house requires plumbing work.

#Laundry room hidden water heater install

If you have the space, you can hire a contractor to install drywall and a door. If neither of those options work well for you, here are a few other ideas. If you plan on living in your home for a long time, you may want to consider purchasing a tankless hot water heater or moving your existing hot water tank to a new location. If you have an ugly hot water heater, there are actually many different options for concealing it. So here is a super condensed version of the laundry room remodel that I did for the Spring 2017 One Room Challenge including my DIY water heater cover. Since then, our family has sold our home and I have updated my blog, but readers are constantly searching for the content and asking that I re-post it. Several years ago, I updated my laundry room and figured out how I wanted to hide our hot water heater.











Laundry room hidden water heater